slimp.net hacked my web site!

slimp.net is an adware/spyware fraud scam

I was unable to find information about slimp.net anywhere on the web, so had to write my own post. On a number of occaisions, when I visited my web site, there was evidence that I had been hacked! Somehow, a malicious script was executed which placed an ad banner on my web site for some various pharma-fraud products. (Who else would use malware like slimp.net to sell their products?)

slimp.net placed a sleazy ad banner on my site.

sleazy spam

sleazy spam

slimp.net placed a sleazy ad banner on my site.

So, the weird part is, I can’t figure out how they’re doing it. As best as I can tell, it’s either a jQuery hack, or else someone within GOOGLE is doing the hacking! (Because I only see the code when I am using the Google Chrome Browser, and when I am linked from Google Search, logged into my Google Account.) When I view the page source, it looks fine. However, when I use the Google Chrome Inspector, as painful as it is, It shows the code in question:

cap2

Is anyone else getting spammed by these cyber-criminals at slimp.net? Please comment below?

6 Responses

  1. cytral Says:

    Our site had the same thing happen. I found the hacked file, it was mootools.js. I posted the code here: http://test.whygee.com/slimp/

    You can see they just added code to the top of the file.

    I haven’t found the rest of it if there is more.. somehow it has to detect if you’re coming from google.

    -cS

  2. cytral Says:

    Might want to take the “No Responses” part out of your wordpress template =)

  3. Nathan Solla Says:

    Thanks cS. I should have known it was mootools… I hereby apologize for implicating jQuery!

  4. cytral Says:

    No prob. Nice site btw. I think the problem may be related to Apache 2 though and not jquery. I’m still lookin.

  5. cytral Says:

    you can find it by typing this in your root dir:

    find . -type f -name “*.js” -exec grep -il ‘Click Here’ {} \;

  6. norbtek Says:

    My site has this in it too. I believe it has something to do with a plugin as well, “Tiny MCE Advanced”. I will have to check it out further. I need to look for the offending script and/or code.

    Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.